Organs and Institutions of the LVFO

  •     The Council of Ministers
  •     The Scientific Committee
  •     Beach Management Units
  •     The Policy Steering Committee
  •     The Working Groups
  •     Private Sector
  •     The Executive Committee
  •     The Permanent Secretariat
  •     The Fisheries Management Committee
  •     LVFO at the National Level

    Download Chart of LVFO Institutional Structure

The LVFO has a complex structure, designed to connect into the EAC structures and ensure regional equity and harmonisation.
The Council of Ministers is the Supreme body of LVFO. It makes and adopts measures for management and conservation of fisheries resources. It is made up of ministers from the Partner States responsible for responsible for fisheries.

The Policy Steering Committee consists of Permanent Secretaries responsible for Fisheries who review and submit management recommendations to the Council of Ministers.

The Executive Committee comprises of Heads of Fisheries Management and Heads of Fisheries Research Institutes. It reviews management and scientific activities, agrees on management measures to be implemented and submits them to the PSC.

The Fisheries Management Committee comprises of Heads of Fisheries Management Institutions. It develops management policies and advises the Executive Committee on management and conservation measures [More]

The working group system is a modality chosen to implement the LVFO policies and activities under each of the LVFO programs. The Working Groups consist of staff from fisheries research and fisheries management institutions, and additional experts from Fisheries Training Institutions, Universities and Civil Society Organizations who are specialists in a given programme or thematic area

LVFO Secretariat: The Secretariat is the executive organ of the Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization. It is headed by an Executive Secretary who ensures that the work programme and activities of LVFO are coordinated and implemented in accordance with the policy and decisions adopted by the Council of Ministers.

Fisheries Research Institutes Comprise the three National Fisheries Research Institutes in the Partner States. They are responsible for collecting the scientific data and providing information required by LVFO in various discipline.

Departments/Directorates of Fisheries These are government Departments or Directorates under the Ministries responsible for fisheries in the Partner states with the mandate for fisheries management and development.